Leaving New Zealand

Original1If you go to this site: http://www.54peacockstreet.co.nz you will see our house. We are leaving New Zealand after 13 years. We have just put up our house for sale. I thought some of my friends on Facebook and Twitter would want to see where and how we lived in our house on the beach in Auckland. So here is the site for the house, with pictures, a video, and you can even see Benjy (who was the hero of “The Dog Who Couldn’t Stop Loving”) and some of the cats from my book “The Nine Emotional Lives of Cats.” We will leave in December for Europe, where we will spend six months in Spain (possibly Malaga, as it is warm there in the winter), and six months in the summer in Berlin. After that, Australia (Sydney) for a year or two or possibly even longer. At the moment, for the first time in 30 years, I am not working on a book. Not sure how I feel about this, whether to be sad, or relieved! I have been tempted to try my hand at a historical novel about the 1938 Evian Conference called by Franklin Roosevelt to see what could be done for the beleaguered Jews of Austria and Germany (nothing, it turns out). Not too many people are aware of this important event. Important because it convinced Hitler, rightly, that no nation would object (at least not to the point of allowing them to immigrate in large numbers) when he proceeded with his murderous plans to kill the Jews. Not sure I have the talent to pull this off, but I think it is worth a try.

About jeffreymasson

My new book BEASTS is out this March from Bloomsbury http://www.bloomsbury.com/us/beasts-9781608196159/ or the eBook http://www.bloomsbury.com/us/beasts-9781608199914/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Leaving New Zealand

  1. Hey!, Wellcome to Spain!
    ¡Entonces va a poder practicar a fondo su fabuloso español!
    Voy a ver s me leo de un tirón y de una vez por todas su “El asalto a la verdad. La renuncia de Freud a la teoría de la seducción”, antes de que usted llegue. Esto ya va a ser una cuestión de principios.

    Formo parte de esas ignorantes que no saben de la importancia de la conferencia de Roosevelt en Evian en 1938. Escuchamos “Evian” y pensamos “Ah, muy buena el agua”.
    “Que no sabe si tiene suficiente talento”, jaja, qué gracioso. Escriba ese libro, hombre de dios, háganos ese favor, dése el gusto, usted que sabe y puede: escriba.

    (Como me salga el euromillón mañana, la casa se la compro yo, y me voy a vivir mi particular sueño Neozelandés.)

  2. craig says:

    Hey, I live in The Corbieres about two hours from the Spanish border for 7-10 days per month. If you and the family want to visit contact me thru FB or on 00447412101101 Craig

  3. Louise Rhodes says:

    Good luck!

  4. Caro jeff, speriamo di continuare a leggere il tuo blog. E la tua sensibilità per le situazioni traumatiche ti metterà di certo in grado di scrivere il libro che vuoi sulla più grande tragedia d’Europa.

  5. Katy Meigs says:

    That is a very beautiful house and location. Do you mind my asking why you decided to leave New Zealand?

  6. diahannreyes says:

    Happy move! My boyfriend and I really enjoyed your presentation at the Vegan Museum.

  7. giri says:

    Wishing you and family the very best on the upcoming move ..

  8. brendacheyne says:

    All the best. Love your work.

  9. Raquel Medina says:

    First, the best for you and your family !! But, I would thank you if you tell me about all your
    beautiful and loved little friends? I understand, they are part of your family. Please, let me know about them. Thank you.

  10. Patty Bowers says:

    HAPPY Travels. PLEASE keep us informed and blogged of you and yr wonderful work!

  11. Peta says:

    Isn’t pet passport wonderful? I used it to bring my 3 cats and alaskan malamute from Auckland to London – all animals coped admirably. Thank you for your books which bring so much joy and kinship. Warmest wishes on your travels.

Leave a Reply

